WALLPAPER: On the Beach Last Night (The Affair)

Noah & Helen

One of the best parts of the season 2 finale were all of the fantastic scenes between Noah and Helen. I wouldn’t go as far as to say I’m rooting for them to get back together (I still find Noah so clueless as a human being), but I think their long history has laid the groundwork for one of the most compelling relationships on the show. I also think that Dominic West has far more innate chemistry with Maura Tierney than with Ruth Wilson, which is one of the reasons I have such a hard time buying the depth of that love affair in the first place.

I love the song (“San Francisco Days” by Chris Isaak) that was playing while Noah & Helen were on the road that night, so I used some of the lyrics. One of the things I found really curious about that finale was the decision to spotlight two songs that very much focused on disparate places in the nation: San Francisco and New Orleans. For a series that has its roots firmly in New York and Montauk specifically, that struck me as odd. I wonder if there was a reason for this? Anyway, I already watched the s3 premiere, but I’m looking forward to seeing what else the season brings.

Next: Gilmore Girls, Friday Night Lights, Bates Motel. I also have some new chapters of fanfics in the works.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What's on your mind?

