WALLPAPER: There’s No Catching You (The Catch)

Desktop wallpaper featuring Alice & Benjamin from The Catch

Here’s that wallpaper I kept saying I’d make for The Catch. Let’s be honest, the show is a little disappointing. Though I’m glad they recast Christopher/Benjamin, I don’t think they should’ve gotten rid of Bethany Joy Lenz. I also think the considerable change in tone from the original pilot was a mistake. Both of the leads are better at playing darker roles. And though Mireille & Peter have decent physical chemistry, I’m not sure I believe quite yet that their characters are really in love. Particularly with Peter, there is a strange aloofness about his interpretation of the con-artist, even in scenes when he should be letting his guard down. It’s hard to really care for him so far, and I don’t believe the relationship between him and Margot at all, which is one of the reasons I think keeping Joy might’ve been better. It’s especially difficult because Nate Fisher was so relatable and empathetic. Alice is also not a very compelling character as written, though Mireille is radiant as always. That said, I do think the show will get better as it goes along. We can only hope. Also, I have a feeling that maybe I should finally watch Parenthood. (I’m not a fan of large ensemble casts so I’m a bit nervous about this, but I love Lauren, Peter, and Mae so much. We shall see.)

Next: I’ve really been wanting to make a new Orphan Black wallpaper for some time, so I hope I get to do that before the new season starts. I’m also working on some possible things for Bates Motel, Better Call Saul, Fargo, and Nashville.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What's on your mind?

