WALLPAPER: Left Over (The Leftovers)

Desktop wallpaper for The Leftovers

I just finished season 1 of The Leftovers, but I recently watched the opening credits for season 2, and that’s what visually inspired this wallpaper. I think the show is brilliant, but probably one of the only series out there I wouldn’t really recommend binge-watching. Every episode just leaves you in this pit of despair. I’ve never really seen anything quite like it, and I can’t really think of anything to compare it to. There are moments when stylistically it reminds me of Breaking Bad, but even that show was never this emotionally devastating. And it’s been almost five years since I read the book, but I don’t remember even that to be as soul-crushing. I think maybe the TV medium just enhances all that with the way it’s shot, and the rawness of the acting paired with the very effective score. Anyway, I’m really curious to see where they’ve gone in season 2 beyond the novel. I really like how different that opening sequence is, so I expect that there will be a large tonal shift.

Next: One of my favorite wallpapers I’ve ever made is the one that depicts the last 10 minutes of the Six Feet Under series finale, and I want to make a whole series of wallpapers in that vein that pay tribute to other great endings to my favorite TV series. Right now my top priorities are The Killing, Fringe, and Breaking Bad. But we’ll see what happens.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What's on your mind?

