WALLPAPER: Clear Eyes, Full Hearts (Friday Night Lights)

Friday Night Lights desktop wallpaper

I’m a little more than halfway through season 4 of my Friday Night Lights binge, so there’s still over a season left to go, but already I don’t want it to end. Although I’m glad this series didn’t come on the air until after I was done with high school myself, I regret that it took me so long to watch it. I grew up in Texas like the characters, and I don’t think there’s another state in the US that has had a more unfair treatment in the media. Stereotypes abound. Judgment from every direction. Everyone has an opinion about Texas, but only those of us who have spent a significant portion of our lives there really know what it’s like to live there, both the good and the bad, and the delicate balance that is wonderfully depicted on this show. The main reason I kept putting off watching it for so long is because I hate football. I wasn’t worried that I wouldn’t like it because I love all great sports movies, regardless of how I feel about the particular sport. I was worried that the show would somehow turn me into a football fan after all those years, and I didn’t want that. Well, I’m happy to report that while I understand the game a whole lot better now, I still think it’s idiotic. I’m also happy to report that that fact doesn’t take away from my enjoyment of the show at all, and all the wonderful things people have said about it are all true. (Sidenote: as you might have figured by looking around my blog archive, I was a huge fan of One Tree Hill when I was in high school and college, partially because I am a huge basketball fan. Now if only they could’ve combined these two shows somehow, it would be the greatest teen show ever made.)

I haven’t even talked about the actual Friday Night Lights wallpaper yet. I like how this turned out. It’s on my own desktop now. This is a bit of a return to the style I was doing a lot back in 2014. I just hope the yellow isn’t too bright on everyone’s screens because it didn’t look that way on my other computer and now I feel it’s blinding me like the sun.

Next: Just finishing up season 1 of The Leftovers (now there’s a show you should not binge!) and I have a great idea for a wallpaper, though I’m not yet sure it’ll pan out. Stay tuned!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What's on your mind?

