WALLPAPER: Before We Got Old (1280×800)

rainbowswall500

Hard to believe, but it’s been nearly 9 years since I made a Gilmore Girls wallpaper. The last one was in the summer of 2006, and it also featured Rory and Jess. I’ve been rewatching seasons 1-3 of Gilmore Girls recently (which are the only 3 seasons worth reliving, in my opinion), and I’ve come to the conclusion that Rory and Jess are my #1 OTP of all time. Nathan and Haley still have some very sweet scenes, but that relationship just doesn’t hold up over time. Dan and Blair are the best all-around, but they lose major points for being on a ridiculous show. Michael and Maria were comedic gold for the first season and then it all went downhill. And as much as I love Linden and Holder, they were never an actual couple when the show was on the air. No one else is even worth mentioning.

My ships are rarely endgame. I should be used to it by now. But I always thought that Rory and Jess were actually meant to end up together, if not for circumstances beyond our control directly before the last season: ASP leaving the show, and Milo and Alexis calling it quits in real life. Which is what makes the end of Rory and Jess sting more than usual. So here is a throwback to my favorite book-loving TV couple of all time. A brand new Literati wallpaper to adorn our desktops. I even used lyrics to my favorite nostalgia-themed song, “Rainbows and Pots of Gold” by Stereophonics. In my mind, they do end up together somewhere along the line.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

What's on your mind?

